Jessica's Blog



Youth In Our Society

Quite often, I hear that the youth of our society have ruined our world or that there is no hope for our generation of youth.  I firmly believe that when the youth of America are called upon to think and act responsibly for the good of the United States and the world, we, like previous generations of America’s youth, will rise to the occasion.

I see the loss of faith in youth–a belief that the youth do not care anymore–as the main problem with our society.  In other words, the problem is not that the youth of this generation do not care but that few people give this generation of youth a chance to show they care.  The view that youth no longer care is a myth, or fallacy, that has been generated for years.  It is not just the youth who do not care. Youth and adults alike have turned their backs on what this country stands for: the power of democracy.   I do believe there are individuals who do care a great deal and wish for change, and that some of these individuals even work hard at achieving change; but this is not the majority of our society at all.

For this country to work properly, we must be willing to educate ourselves in politics. The youth must be willing to form political ideologies and see how doing so will help mold the direction our society will take.  How many of the youths that you know espouse a political ideology? Of that group, how many of them formed their opinions themselves and rather than on what their friends and family believe?  You may disagree with me, but I believe politics have taken on a bandwagon effect.  I believe that the large majority of people no longer form their own opinions by gathering facts themselves but take on the opinions of those around them.  I know not everyone has done this, but I know more people who have done this than have not.

Even worse than jumping onto the opinions of others to form a political ideology is the fact that many of my peers don’t even have an opinion on politics at all. The vast majority of my peers usually state that the system is broken anyway so why bother.  I believe this ideology to be very detrimental;  I think that anyone who believes this is ignoring what is happening in the world so that they do not have to care.

I’ve only begun to explore my own ideologies.  Politics is not easy because it’s all about forming an opinion.  No one can tell you the right or wrong answer. One must be familiar with the problems that plague this world, and one must explore the different answers that could solve that problem.

The last election had more people voting within my age group than in a very long time.  I see this as a very important change.  However, the vast majority of youth voters did more of a bandwagon-thing (they voted because their friends voted) than actually forming their own political ideology.  Not that I’m saying their votes are unimportant.  A vote is a vote.  To vote is to stake a claim to something.  Hopefully, this last election is the start of change concerning youth’s concern for our country because, if not, then I see—not only as loss of hope for our generation but—a loss of hope for our entire society.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * sjjoiner says:

    Jessie: Very well done. I do agree that the majority have given up on politicts, as evidenced by the voting percentage. I will only say that I am guilty of the loss of faith in our democratic society. Interestingly enough, as I age I care a little more. I care about who is looking out for me, my family, my children. Just a thought, if more emphasis was put on local elections, maybe changes would be noticed working the bottom up. My thought here is that it is the local politician that often ends up running for the Senate or the House…just a thought.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

